CHALLENGES IN PERSONAL LIFE

My full name is marvie Geeba Kanneh. My both parent were killed during the civil and political armed conflict that plagued Liberia from 1990 through 2003. As a result my sister and I struggled to enter in neighboring country Guinea. I have spent more than 14 years living as refugee in the refugee camps. and my time is the refugee camps was very difficult.

While growing up in the refugee camps I received primary, secondary and vocational education through the humanitarian assistance of United Nations High Commissioners for Refugees (UNHCR). In addition, I trained to work voluntarily with for some international aid organizations like Rigth to Play, Jesuit Refugee Service, American Refugee Committee, United Nations Fund Population for Action and Assistance (UNFPA) and Red Cross Social Guinea to help my fellow refugees through community services sport recreation for child for children and youth, rehabilitation service disabled indivuduals and awareness of adolescent reproduction program and HIV/AIDS prevention. I also dedicated my spare time to facilitate dialogue o diversity in relation to social and economis changes to help improve the lives of fellow Liberians who fled from homes with trauma lift behind by wars. I was recognized my UNHCR on numerous occasions during this time.

At the end Liberia’s wars that lasted for 14 years, United Nations and Guinean Authority closed all refugee camps so that Liberian refugees would repatriate to rebuild their country and promote peace. Refugees wre not longer supported in Guinea.

While in Guinea, with no means of going back home and struggling to fugure out life for myself that whould have poaitive impact on others, I moved to Mali and lived with a former government staff who offered me to get access to university education. While pursuing my studies in Electricity Engineering, the school unexpectely shutdown due to financial difficult and other administrative issues. In this addition difficult situation, I found another and studied a diploma course at APTECH Computer Institute Bamako Mali.

In 2012, When Mali experienced serious political instability I moved to Nigeria and started for admission and scholarship internationally. For the past few years, I have received admission letters from numerous universities I had applied.

Presently, I’m a freshman at Accra Inatitute of Technology Ghana. Through some financial asssitance I was able to secure my admission and for first semester this year (2015). I’m quite excited for this undergraduate study, but I’m facing some financial constraints. The duration of my is 4 years for bachelor degree. I need help  for tuition, accommodation, board/feeding, text books and other fees that will enable me continue my studies after this first semester which will end by December 2015.

The school’s website: http://www.aid.edu.gh

You can also access my personal information on school grade, online assignement, lecturer’s note and remark and among others by using my student ID through LEMASS (Learning Management and Support System).

Student: ads16a00023y   PASSWORD: aitgh

Achieving my higher education at this institution will be one of the most investments in my carreer and professional future. I will inspire me to excel, contribute to development and help other people to go to school and achieve their dreams.

After completing my degree I plan to return in my native country Liberia. I wish to participate in the difficult task of helping to rebuild Liberia so that my fellow countrymen can one day have a stable future.027

Leave a comment